Tags

 It was 2001 when I moved from Portland, Oregon to Silicon Valley. I have been blessed with the wonderful opportunity to continue to serve in ministry here. But last month I celebrated fifteen years since having graduated from Mission College of Evangelism. I can never, ever thank God enough!

I will never forget how God directed, and made possible this path. I had been involved in a number of different ministries, Prison Ministry, Women’s Ministry, and had also volunteered with Boys and Girls Club of America. It had been quite a while that my heart was being convicted God wanted me to do something else, something different. 

I was blessed one Sabbath to be able to discuss my convictions with a pastor who came to my church on a business trip. I had met him several times before and trusted his listening ear; I was also aware of his faithful and devoted service to the church body. After our discussion, his advice to me was to pray about going to Mission College of Evangelism.

Following our family discussions and prayer, I applied to the recommended college, and later received acceptance. I then resigned from my nursing job for the designated time period. 

When I received my instruction package, I was shocked at the amount of memorization of Bible verses, and daily tests that I would need to do! I really prayed a lot! I told God, ‘You are the only One who can help me with all of it, because right now I’m not seeing how I will be able to do it!’ At this time of apprehension I barely remembered to pause and claim His wonderful promises: 

“Christ’s last words to his disciples were: Lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world”. “Go ye therefore and teach all nations.” Go to the farthest bounds of the habitable globe, and know that wherever you go My presence will attend you…”

“To us also the commission is given. We are bidden to go forth as Christ messengers, to teach, instruct, and persuade men and women, to urge upon their attention the word of life. And to us also the assurance of Christ’s abiding presence is given. Whatever the difficulties with which we may have to contend, whatever the trials we may have to endure, the gracious promise is always ours, “Lo I am with you always even unto the end of the world.” Manuscript 24, 1903.

I will never forget the day my husband dropped me off at the college in Gaston, Oregon and waved goodbye. I felt a deep sense of sadness that I would not see him every day for a while, (of course he would come to visit) but I also felt a deep love flow through my heart for the sacrifice he had made so I could attend. However, we both realized that nothing is too much to give, when compared with the sacrifice God made for us.

What a very blessed time I spent at Mission College. It was tucked away in a very beautiful area. Students from all over the world were there! I loved this! Because I love people! The sacred atmosphere was a tiny taste of what we hope heaven will be like; worship, prayer, study, singing, fellowship, friendships, nature… there was no time or desire to even wonder what was happening in the outside world.  

We were blessed, amongst other things, with hymns played in the morning and throughout the day at the piano in the lobby, morning worship for which we were each scheduled to deliver, sermon delivery training, wonderful classes in how to give a Bible study, public evangelism planning, health evangelism, Bible doctrines, the prophecies of Daniel and Revelation, and so much more.  We also enjoyed a strenuous exercise schedule, indoor and outdoor, early in the morning before worship time.

We were served two very healthy meals a day, the last one at 1PM; before leaving for school I wondered about how I would manage without an evening meal, but once adapting I never felt hungry, even though I am generally a big eater (in my family I am called the “bottomless pit”)… It was great to go to sleep with such “lightness.” Less food in the stomach results in a clearer mind, believe me! I aced all of my tests! God is faithful and merciful, long-suffering and amazing!

Another precious memory I will cherish is when we did community outreach. We would bundle into a bus and travel several miles away. We sang along the way, and I remember teaching the busload the song “My Home’s In Heaven.” During outreach time we went in groups of two. John my outreach partner was a teenager, standing at six feet something, and I felt assured if we experienced anything “crooked” while we were out in the field that he would “have my back.”

Mission College of Evangelism began as a dream by Pastor Louis Torres, and his wonderful wife Carol, who saw the need for trained gospel workers. They were the directors when I attended, and taught some of the classes. I will be forever grateful for their intense training, their total commitment, and also for their faithfulness to God’s Holy Word. I loved the amazing evangelism and personal contact experience stories they shared and I always felt like I left class on those days with a dropped jaw!

 Louis Torres is a great teacher and pastor and also an amazing author; one of my favorite books that he wrote is “Gaining Decisions For Christ.” I have that book and it was signed by Pastor Torres on January 31, 2006 with the message, “Dear Doreen, May His grace be your strength and hope. Maranatha. Louis Torres.”

The outer back cover of the book states: “Before he became a Christian Louis Torres played bass for Bill Haley and the comets…” 

I love the other statements too on the back cover that helps me to remember what great work Pastor and Mrs Torres have done for the world and for me: “Does it work? Using the principles in this book, the author coached a team of youth to hold evangelistic meetings in Grand Rapids, Michigan, resulting in 180 baptisms. He coordinated 104 simultaneous crusades by laity in New York City that netted 777 baptisms, with a total budget of only $9,000. Under his direction a group of Filipino businessmen baptized 3.065 on January 27, 2001…”

There is also a statement that has remained in my mind that Pastor Torres told his class on orientation night – “Settle it in your heart that God sent you here.”

Today whenever I read Second Peter, chapter one verse four, I think of Mrs Torres. This was one of her favorite Bible verses, she shared it often, and I also remember it being on one of our tests.

While I was at the college the pastor at that time from my church called and invited me to be his Bible worker. He informed me he had requested one for four years but the request had not yet been granted.  I am still a member and the sole Bible worker at my church today, only now in a volunteer status. 

My current pastor is the renowned Ivor Myers whom many will remember as having authored “The Blueprint, God’s GPS,” the powerful seventeen lesson series. Pastor Myers is a great teacher, and he too loves evangelism. He ministers to thousands of people each week through various platforms, including through his “Power Of The Lamb”ministry.

I have also had the blessing of traveling throughout Central California for ministry support. Although staying on a farm for some of that time is among my fondest memories, nothing will compare to the love I received, the prayers that were prayed for me, the wonderful friendships that were formed, and the numerous unforgettable spiritual experiences.

Silicon Valley is a very beautiful and interesting part of the world and I am blessed with beautiful memories each day. There are many here who are interested in knowing about Jesus, but sadly, in the busyness of the work culture, there are also still many who are not interested in the story of salvation. When most people think of Silicon Valley they are reminded of it as being the pre-eminent technology hub, or the home of the historical Golden Gate Bridge that set a precedent for suspension-bridge design around the world; but each morning when I wake up I am asking God to help me to be the “bridge” that will connect someone to Him.

I love this encouragement from Patriarchs and Prophets – The Night Of Wrestling, pp. 202, 203:

“Yet Jacob’s history is an assurance that God will not cast of those who have been betrayed into sin, but who have returned unto him with true repentance. It was by self-surrender and confiding faith that Jacob gained what he had failed to gain by conflict in his own strength. God thus taught His servant that divine power and grace alone could give him the blessing he craved. Thus it will be with those who live in the last days. As dangers surround them, and despair seizes upon the soul, they must depend solely upon the merits of the atonement. We can do nothing of ourselves. In all our helpless unworthiness we must trust in the merits of the crucified and risen Savior. None will ever perish while they do this. The long, black catalog of our delinquencies is before the eye of the Infinite. The register is complete; none of our offenses are forgotten. But He who listens to the cries of His servants of old, will hear the prayer of faith and pardon our transgressions. He has promised and He will fulfill His word. 

 “Jacob prevailed because he was persevering and determined. His experience testifies to the power of importunate prayer. It is now that we are to learn this lesson of prevailing prayer, of unyielding faith. The greatest victories to the church of Christ or to the individual Christian are not those that are gained by talent or education, by wealth or the favor of men. They are those victories that are gained in the audience chamber with God, when earnest, agonizing faith lays hold upon the mighty arm of power.”

 “Those who are unwilling to forsake every sin and to seek honestly for God’s blessing will not obtain it. But all who will lay hold of God’s promises as  did Jacob and be as earnest and persevering as he was, will succeed as he succeeded. “Shall not God avenge His own elect, which cry day and night unto Him, though He bear long with them? I tell you that he will avenge them speedily.” Luke 18:7,8.”

I cherish my memories and also the picture I share of our 2006 class. Because the students are scattered throughout the world I have only seen two of them since graduation; amazingly one of them was John my outreach partner who came to town several years ago for a Generation Of Youth conference. The other student, Imola, was on a visit to the United States from Europe. Some of them are now married and have their own families. I believe they too are forever thankful for the time we all spent together. I believe they too are continuing to find their way to the hearts of those around them…even if not by “the fireside” –

Our class members
Our class members

“Wherever you can gain access to the people by the fireside, improve your opportunity. Take your Bible, and open before them it’s great truths. Your success will not depend so much upon your knowledge and accomplishments, as upon your ability to find your way to the heart. By being social and coming close to the people, you may turn the current of their thoughts more readily than by the most able discourse. Gospel Workers, p. 193 (1915).”

If not on this earth, I pray, by God’s grace to meet again my fellow classmates and teachers, in the earth made new, where all that we have longed for in this life will  be realized, and will come alive; the place where all of our labors and trials will be over; where we will no longer be separated from those we love. Until then I have “settled it in my heart” that God has me where He wants me, and will continue to equip me for whatever He wants me to do for His name’s honor and glory. He still accepts me in my “helpless unworthiness.” For this I am truly thankful.