Today on my birthday I am doing almost nothing, except of course thanking God for thousands of blessings each day and taking myself to be pampered. I took the day off to do things like go for a massage, have my hair done, enjoy my family and friends Facebook messages, call friends I haven’t spoken to in while and do a few special emails.

I try not to let the days get to brutal and busy without pondering all of the wonderful blessings God sends into my life; like my wonderful husband whose birthday card front says “Thank you for your love. It’s easy to get caught up in the little everyday stuff of our life and not tell you the big things that really matter.” Then on the inside “That’s why on your birthday, I want to make sure you know  that I am grateful for the woman that you are and for the love you add to my life. And even when I don’t say it, I’m glad to be sharing both the big days and the everyday days with you.” Ah! And how about those darling little grandkids in Portland, Oregon who I cannot wait to see again, Finnigan, and the twins Lucie and Matteo. Thank you God for a praying mother, and wonderful sisters and brothers and their families. 

My friends and church family are also so special. This morning I received a message from a girlfriend that said “Friends are like balloons, once you let them go you cannot get them back. So I will tie you to my heart, so I never lose you.”

Thank you God for everything. This is my prayer on my birthday –  Psalm 90:12 – So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom.”

And now I really do need to play, step aside, and rest a while.

