Have you thought upon or mentioned God’s name today? Even one time at least?

Before flying I pray not only for myself but also for all others on board. I also pray especially for the people I will sit by, both outbound and inbound.

Last week I had a wonderful experience. On my outbound flight I sat alongside a gentleman whom I later found out was a beautiful Christian, and who along with his wife taught Sunday school. No one took the seat in the middle which gave us the opportunity to talk with each other. I believe God gave us this opportunity, because David initiated our conversation with a spiritual question. We then talked freely and heartily about the Lord and His goodness. On my inbound flight God blessed me once again with the wonderful opportunity of sitting alongside a Christian couple, the husband by the window, his wife Karin in the middle, with me on aisle side. Almost from the time I sat down Karin shared a number of “praise reports” about God’s goodness to her, how he blessed their marriage with wonderful sons and how they had excelled, her healing from colon cancer, her belief in the power of prayer, the list was long and her heart could not stop rejoicing! She spoke in normal tones, not in a nervous or ashamed whisper! It is very disturbing that in today’s society many people experience hesitation or might I say restriction in their desire to mention the name of God.

There are many beautiful reminders from God’s Holy Word that cross my mind throughout the day and here is one of them, found in the book of Malachi 3:16-17 “Then they that feared the Lord spake often one to another:and the Lord hearkened, and heard it and a book of remembrance was written before Him for them that feared the Lord, and that thought upon His name. And they shall be mine, saith the Lord of hosts, in that day when I make up my jewels, and I will spare them, as a man spareth his own son that serveth him.”

Are you afraid to mention God’s name? At work? In school? To family members who are unbelievers? To those  who profess God in word only? Is it because you are afraid? Or are you ashamed?

Romans 1:16 “For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to everyone that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek” KJV.

“We need not keep our own record of trials and difficulties, griefs and sorrows. All these things are written in the books and heaven will take care of them. While we are counting up the disagreeable things, many things that are pleasant to reflect upon are passing from memory, such as the merciful kindness of God surrounding us every moment and the love over which angels marvel, that God gave His son to die for us” (In Contact With Others, Ministry of Healing, p 211)

Would my experience differed, had I sat by non-Christians on the plane? Certainly not!  God does not want me, or you, to hesitate in proclaiming His love and grace to whomever He brings into our lives.Witnessing Christians are growing Christians! And here is why God encourages us “Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice” Philippians 4:4.

Do not forget! When we “speak often one to another… and think upon His name” God not only  remembers but He writes it in a book!

