Today my second oldest sister Barbara dared to leave our tiny island for the very first time in her life. Unlike her siblings she has never ventured anywhere in the outside world, even amidst beckoning and invitations from her children and other family members. Now, Barbara and our eldest sister Pat are sailing on a ten day round trip on the only royal mail ship left, the RMS St Helena. While my sister attends a conference in Cape Town, Barbara will taste “big city” life for the very first time.

I wonder what her thoughts are! Out there on an ocean with waves the size of which she has only seen while walking on the sea front at home? What will she think about Cape Town by night? That amazing city with it’s beautiful lights that Mummy told us about when she first saw them. Now that I think about it, I am the only sibling who has not yet visited South Africa!

I hope our sister Alicia, the one who stayed behind, wont cry to badly for them… as for sweet Mummy… she cries for all of us anyway… as for me… I cry for them each time I just wish we could hike together around my island!

In a few weeks God willing, my brother Derek and his family who lives in Atlanta, Georgia are also traveling home. He will join his sisters in Cape Town and together they will enjoy that fun trip home. Wow! Barbara sure planned it well! Nothing wrong with doing it right “the first time!”

Bon Voyage Pat and Barbara! We believe God will be with you. Psalm 93:4 “The Lord on high is mightier than the noise of many waters, yea, than the mighty waves of the sea.”

