We had such a wonderful Christmas program this past Sabbath, which was also Christmas Eve. The music was so beautifully sung, some of the youth played violin carols and the Pastor’s sermon was very powerful.

Christmas is a time of joy but can also be a time of sorrow. During the season I often think of family from whom we are separated, those who have  lost loved ones throughout the year, I think of the homeless, the jobless, those suffering with depression, those who have lost loved ones through suicide, the newly divorced and the list could go on endlessly. As I sat in church and looked across the aisles I saw the new widow of my great friend Cliff who died just four months ago from a newly diagnosed brain tumor; the tears rolled down my face as I tried to imagine how she must feel. This was the first time I was seeing her since the funeral. I told my husband we should go and sit with her but for whatever reason I just couldn’t move because I just couldn’t stop crying. As I watched her for a while I saw how composed she was, so I made the decision to remain where we were already seated, knowing that if we sat next to her in my emotional state it would ignite any emotions she was so courageously holding.

There are all kinds of music in our world, some of it makes no sense at all and has no meaning, but I can say for sure that  Christian music reaches the very essence of the soul; the beautiful thing about this type of music is that it always comes to one’s ear at just the right time, comforting, soothing, calming, and lifting our spirits above the cares of this life; even when we are already in high spirits Christian music takes us to greater heights.

As we sat there in church listening to the beautiful music  my thoughts turned to the day when we can look forward to hearing the angels sing. Here on this earth we have heard  and can hear so many people with such beautiful voices, but one day, those of us who now say “I can only sing in the shower” will have voices as beautiful as the angels and will be able to sing along with them. I just cannot wait!

The carol we sang in closing at church was about how Jesus left His throne and His kingly crown and came to earth for me;  how He came in humility with the living word, to set me free. It tells about heaven ringing and her choirs singing, at His coming in victory… ” So come to my heart Lord Jesus, there is room in my heart for Thee.”

I will be eternally grateful that Jesus left His throne. I am also praying that Jesus will help me to have the spirit of humility, so that when He comes the next time, not as a “Babe” but as King of Kings and Lord of Lords (Revelation 19:16)  I will be ready to meet Him. Even though I do not know the day or the hour (Matthew 24:26) I can still shout “Even so, come, Lord Jesus” Revelation 22:20.

This is my prayer not just for myself, but for all who read this blog.

