A week ago our family experienced the most devastating disappointment and sadness. We cannot remember the last time we felt so very sad. Yes, we felt very sad when we had to leave home and say goodbye again in 2009, yes, we felt sad when a part of our family moved to France, but this sadness… different and unexplainable! The main focus of sadness was our elderly mother/grandmother. How will she cope with the news? With such a large family, we probably cried enough tears over the past week to fill a lap pool. Our family are always in constant contact, but over the past week I think we made history for the number of emails sent to each other located  all over the world; Falkland Islands, Ascension Island, France, Oregon, Atlanta, South Africa, England, St Helena Island.

I personally felt so very disappointed that I was “sick to my stomach” as the saying goes. After kneeling and “screaming” for God’s help and calling some of my very dependable spiritual partners, I decided that I needed to get out of the house. Prayer, claiming God’s promises, exercise and fresh air is the best “fix” for me when I feel as though the roof is falling in.

While outdoors I received a beautiful text from my friend that said “we are praying, God is at work.” This made me really cry because I knew God will always be faithful, but I felt so numb right then to make these thoughts applicable. Thank God for Christian friends. No matter what wrong impressions some might have about Christianity and Christians, the reason we all receive mercy is because Christians are sending their supplications to a “living” God who once walked this earth as one of us.

As I continued exercising I listened to some music. Right after my friend sent the text, the beautiful song by Annie Buell “Deeper Look” played. She sings about going through the motions throughout the day… but when the day ends and the lights are out…do we take a deeper look; her refrain asks ” Have you had a deeper look? Is God just a story, from some old book? Is it all the same old news?”

A week has gone by, and even though our family, in our individual and personal ways have had to cope with the news that devastated us, we can say with confidence and in great certainty that God is not  “just a story”… but when we take a “deeper look” we can know with all of our heart that He cares about every aspect of our lives: Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”

We cannot see beyond God’s “veil” this is why He is Omnipotent and we are not; one thing is for sure; He has given all of us enough evidence to believe that our “timing” is not His “timing”. This is why this past week our family was able to come up with a new plan, doing it one more time in Jesus name, and waiting for His “expected end.” Amen.

