Daddy and Family

From back to front - Pat, Mommy, Daddy, Alicia, Doreen, Barbara

Daddy died when I was eight years old.  I barely remember much about him, but the stories I hear are always great ones. I do remember his blue eyes though. Many days I wish he could be here to see how our family has triple – multiplied.

I was told that Mummy did all of the spanking, and that Daddy was really quiet. I bet if we lived in this country when we were growing up she would have been in prison for the rest of her life; when we needed a spanking we got it; how much better our children  in this society would be today if they were disciplined in a way that would teach responsibility, manners, respect.

Daddy never allowed us to “talk back” to Mummy or our teachers, scream for candy, run wild in the house, pout when we couldn’t get our way… because of his firmness, respect for others is at the top of the list for my siblings and I.

I am thankful for all of the wonderful fathers in my family, in my church, in my neighbourhood and on my job. My prayer is that they will be blessed today and always.

Most of all I am thankful for my heavenly Father because: Hebrews 13:8 “Jesus Christ, the same yesterday, today and forever.”

