One of my favorite pieces of music I enjoy  in my car is The Cross Medley from an album by Adam (no last name). Some of the words are:

Man of sorrows, what a name;
For the Son of man who came…” 
The reverent tone in which Adam sings this particular piece touches my heart each time, especially his expression of the words “Hallelujah! What a Saviour!”

I believe that most days we remember our Saviour as a Man of Love but barely remember why He was also a “Man of Sorrows.”  When I reflect on the crucifixion and death of our Saviour, no elaborate demonstration comes to mind; no gold crowns, no rich clothing, no dazzling banners; instead I am reminded of how the prophet Isaiah describes Him: Isaiah 53:2-4 He hath no form nor comeliness; and when we shall see Him, there is no beauty that we should desire Him; He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief and we hid as it were our faces from Him; He was despised and we esteemed Him not… smitten of God and afflicted. Yes, this was all because of His great love for us, but we often forget this painful path that He took! It is no great wonder that Adam sings his song in such solemn tones! And what better reminder could I have to travel along with me in my car! What a Savior, and what a Price! 

One of my most referenced Bible verses is Isaiah 1:18 “Come now and let us reason together…” I have led people to this verse more than any other; people who have a hard time believing they have a Saviour who will “reason” with them. They have not yet learned to believe, by faith, in His promises for forgiveness through repentance. Not only that, He promises to “blot out thy transgressions” for His own sake, and has promised that He will NOT remember them! Isaiah 43:25. This is why He was a “Man of Sorrows!” He stood in my place, and in your place! We need not “rake up” past sins, because the One who forgives us, even He does not remember them.

And now, He is risen!

The Desire Of Ages pg 786: “To the believer, Christ is the resurrection and the life. In our Saviour the life that was lost through sin was restored; for He has life in Himself to quicken whom He will. He is invested with the right to give immortality. The life that He laid down in humanity, He takes up again, and gives to humanity. ” I  am come,” He said, “that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”

When I survey the wondrous cross
On which the Prince of glory died,
My richest gain I count but loss,
And pour contempt on all my pride.

See, from His head, His hands, His feet,
Sorrow and love flow mingled down;
Did e’er such love and sorrow meet?
Or thorns compose so rich a crown?”
 
Thank you Jesus, for your voice that cried from the cross, “It is finished.”
