How can I thank you Lord? How can I thank you for your love, your care, your direction, your providence throughout this past year toward my family and myself? What a year, what an experience! And we are very thankful to be counted or I can say numbered with the living. You are giving us another opportunity to love you, and to represent you much more than we did last year. You also want us to love others much more than we did last year. This is the greatest gift that comes from you alone.

After coming back from overseas last year I hunted for a part time nursing job like the one I had before leaving. I was going to be away for six months so I resigned, knowing that nursing jobs are always easy to find… well that’s how it used to be, right? After about a year  of being back there were no part time jobs to be found. Finally in September of this year I was offered a full time job. What a change in my life that brought! I had not worked full time since 2001! Being a wife, a full time nurse and a Bible teacher was indescribable in my vocabulary! Exercise? Never saw it! Sleep? Not much! Promises? Barely kept! Good intentions? Yes, but hardly fulfilled!

Thanks be to God that He knows our hearts and our intentions. When I took that part time job I took it with the intention to “get my foot in the door” with the hope of falling into a part time job. I prayed often and told God that He already knew this full time job was to much for me and I told Him that I believe He could change it. Well guess what! He did! Was I surprised? No, because I made the claim in confidence!

Two months after I was hired my company did a staff cut of fifty two people, the majority of them were nurses, and guess who stood in that number? Yes, me! Praise the Lord! Why praise Him when I lost my job? Because I knew He was laying His plan for me, the special plan He had just for me in answer to my prayer! I really believe this!  Friends you can also have this belief!

We were told our last day would be in two weeks on September 15th. Here now is the golden punch line: the very next day on September 16th I began a three day per week nursing job with the same company! I now work on Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays! What a  caring God. I can profess that He is intimately involved in every area of our lives.

Friends as we begin again with God in 2011 remember we can claim His promises! I am thinking about a chorus we sang in church when I was growing up; it said “how can you claim God’s promises if you don’t know what they are”. My prayer for myself and all of you in this coming year is that we can get to know God more; in this way we can know of His promises much and so much more.

1 John 5:14-15: And this is the confidence that we have in Him, that, if we ask any thing according to His will, He heareth us: And if we know that He hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of Him. KJV

Have a Happy New Year with Jesus!

 

 

