My girlfriend stopped by the other day and gave me an article on Halloween. I had shared with her how that while I was out jogging I came by a home that had about ten headstones in the front yard. I normally enjoy my jogging route, but this time of year I have to pass by witches, wizards….. So change your route you will say, but I continue to go by hoping I can tell someone from one of those homes about the purity and loveliness of Jesus.  I really cannot understand why so many think of Halloween as a fun day. I have seen nothing but ugliness; scary faces, scary looking animals, scary this and scary that! What and who does this represent? And what about the expense! When thousands in our world are dying!

Ah, when I think of Jesus; pure, holy, compassionate, merciful, a LIVING Savior, Son of God, Shepherd. He invites us to come to HIM in prayer. Friends please read the history of this ugly and scary day. Nowhere in His Word can I find a text that invites me to pray to the dead, and why? A very simple and direct answer, again right from His Word: “…the dead know not any thing” Ecclesiastes 9:5 KJV. See also 1 Samuel 28 (The witch of Endor) and Deuteronomy 18 :10-12

Today, like any other day is Jesus’s day, not Satan’s day. No ghosts, jack-o-lanterns, broomsticks, witches , wizards for me because God has given us very clear instructions: Leviticus 19:31 ” Regard not them that have familiar spirits, neither seek after wizards, to be defiled by them: I am the Lord your God.” and Leviticus 20:27. Even though many would respond that they are not communicating with real witches, God is asking in these scriptures that we would represent in our every habit of life His own perfection of character.

I sing with the Psalmist ” Give unto the Lord the glory due unto HIS name; worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness” Psalm 29:2.

Jesus, name above all names, precious Redeemer, faithful friend.

God bless you.


 

