Two weeks have flown by since I began orientation on my new job. The first week entailed a lot of information about  the company, it’s policies and procedures, the computer system and all of the  other wonderful information a new employee should hear about. This past week I began clinical orientation.

Urology is a new specialty to me and  I am very excited. I have been blessed with the opportunity to work in several other specialty departments. God has always blessed me with employment surrounded by great teams and awesome learning experiences. This past week was no exception.

I have to admit though I feel like I am drowning in information and not being able to suck in enough air. This happens to all of us while being the new kid on the block. All through the week I have prayed the prayer of Solomon 1 Kings 3:7 “… and I am but a little child: I know not how to go out or come in…” . Solomon is not here conveying that he is a child in years, but that he regards himself as a child in experience. The words are those of humility. With the heavy responsibilities of the nation resting upon him, he felt himself unequal to the task and in need of Divine help. I certainly do not have before me a task as great as Solomon’s, nor will God be able to state about me like he did Solomon ” there was none like thee before thee, neither after thee shall any arise like unto thee.”  1 Kings 3:12. However, you have already guessed the other parts of Solomon’s  prayer that I am praying: 1 Kings 3:9 “Give therefore thy servant an understanding heart…” and 2 Chronicles 1:10 “Give me now wisdom and knowledge…”   I believe my sincere and earnest prayer will be heard by a caring and  compassionate God.

God in His Word tells us that because this wise man did not ask for riches and honor or a long life, that He would grant Solomon that which he had not asked. No better understanding of the basic nature of wisdom is found anywhere than in the words written by Solomon himself: Proverbs 9:10 “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom.”  Our first and greatest need is an understanding heart, a heart that can understand it’s own problems and needs as well as the will of God. God is pleased when man requests of Him that which is wise and good.

As we go about our day today and through the rest of our lives, may we always remember that the wisdom which only God can give brings all other blessings in it’s train: Proverbs 3:13 “Happy is the man that findeth wisdom, and the man that getteth understanding.”

I also share a beautiful promise in the words of Jesus himself: John 14:27 ” Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” Amen.

