It is always a blessing to get away from the busy city life. Just like Jesus had told his disciples to “…step aside and rest a while … for they had no leisure…” Mark 6:31, we also need to do so; but do we maintain our relationship with God when we are “stepping aside?”. Does “stepping aside” mean not having our “sword” (Ephesians 6:17) with us? We are in constant danger, not so much that the Bible will be taken away from us, but that we will be dragged away from the Bible.

I carry in my purse a small Bible that I call my travel Bible; often times I cross paths with people who initiate spiritual questions and I was taught by my mother to always “show them from Scripture”. Dear Mummy, what an example!

This morning I did not have my “sword” with me when a gentleman stopped to talk as I was jogging. While he asked how I felt, he also added with a not so happy voice that he was ok but was still looking for a job. After encouraging him I shared with him that I was a Bible teacher and a nurse  and that I would pray for him. This led our conversation to a wonderful discussion. He was also a Christian.

John and I discussed several things before we parted, but this was one time I really wished I had carried my Bible. Sounds crazy, I know, as who does this while jogging! The next best thing was to give him my contact information for follow up on our discussion. However, I did carry a few small books in my pocket and gave John one on handling stress from a spiritual perspective, and another called “The Promise of Peace”.

Are you carrying God’s Word with you today? If not in your pocket, how about in your heart? In the Scriptures the prophet Amos warns us : chapter 8:11,12 “Behold, the days come, saith the Lord, that I will send a famine in the land, not a famine of bread, nor a thirst for water, but of hearing the words of the Lord: and they shall wander from sea to sea, and from the north even to the east, they shall run to and fro to seek the word of the Lord, and shall not find it“.

So, should we hide the Word of God in our hearts?  We can find the answer from the Psalmist who said: Psalm 119:11 “Thy Word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against Thee”.

I have no desire to be a part of that famine that the prophet speaks about. How about you? Why will God send a famine of His Word? Are we turning a deaf ear? God bless you as you feast on God’s Word and store it in your memory bank. Our human recall button is far better than any modern technology. We can thank God for the instruction that He gives us, and for the grace that enables us to live in accordance with His high standards of life in this world and that gives us the promise of life in the next. Amen.

