Just recently I did a refresher class for my Intravenous Therapy  and Phlebotomy skills; I had initially received my certification in another State. What a shock, once I had signed up, to learn that the State of California requires the “real thing”, meaning no “dummy” sticks, but that a classmate would actually have the delight of sticking me and vice versa. Our sticks would also have to be “successful” ones, we would have to see the blood flow! “Oh! This State, why are they so different in so many of their rules and regulations? What a pain! I shouldn’t have bothered!”. Yes, what a chicken, and a big baby! That’s me, when it comes to being stuck! You’ve heard it before : “nurses enjoy sticking, but not being stuck”.

So here we were, day two in class and the moment when all of this “dread” would begin. My “blood partner”  was one who had what looked like rolling (impossible) veins, but she was also a new nurse, ouch!  I didnt mean anything! You didn’t hear me say anything; Each of us will remember those early days in our different professions; But I had to consider both sides of the coin, no good veins for me to stick, and  not much practice under her belt! Oh, what happened to my positive attitude? All this complaining!

I wonder how much Jesus complained when He got “stuck” and “pierced” for me?  The Scriptures hold  the answer so clearly: “He was oppressed, and He was afflicted, yet He opened not His mouth: He is brought as a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so He openeth not his mouth” Isaiah 53:7 KJV.

I decided to take the first stick: result = vein rolled, large bruise on right dorsal hand – repeat stick required at different site – result = wonderfully successful! Halleluiah! The blood!  The stick that I gave my partner  followed the same pattern: result = nay, (also with a bruise the next day) but then yeah!

Our passing the class meant being able to “produce” the blood, and as I held my classmate’s arm I was reminded of a hymn we often sing during a baptismal service in church: “Oh now I see the crimson wave, the fountain deep and wide, Jesus my Lord mighty to save, points to His wounded side”. That crimson wave seemed like it was taking ages to appear from those delicate veins;  “… and without shedding of blood, there is no remission” (forgiveness) Hebrews 9:22.

One of my favorite authors wrote: “Such love is without a parallel. Children of the heavenly King! Precious promise! Theme for the most profound meditation! The matchless love of God  for a world that did not love Him! The thought has a subduing power upon the soul, and brings the mind into captivity to the will of God. The more we study the divine character in the  light of the cross, the more we see mercy, tenderness, and forgiveness blended with equity and justice, and the more clearly we discern innumerable evidences of a love that is infinite, and a tender pity surpassing a mother’s yearning sympathy for her wayward child”. Steps to Christ, pg 4.

At the end of the class we had a lot of “jab wounds” but how could our “suffering” compare! Not to mention such perfect love!

