I am so thankful to have a telephone prayer partner again. Having relocated a number of times I have lost several of these; of course my husband is always my prayer partner,  but I am talking about the one I connect with at a consistent time each morning so we can access heavens powerhouse.

The Bible tells us about Jesus praying, how he rose early in the morning to pray – Mark 1:35. When He was on earth Jesus taught His disciples how to pray “Our Father which art in heaven…” Matthew 6:9-13. Many times though we forget about the beautiful prayer in John 17 that Jesus prayed for His disciples then, and for all believers down through the ages. Whenever you have a gloomy day, this is one of the most uplifting chapters to read from your Bible. Beautiful! Look at John 17:20; Jesus prayed for you and for me; then in John 17:24 He prayed that one day we will be where He is! Oh Blessed Hope!

Our Savior found comfort and joy in communion with His Father. One author wrote that when Jesus prayed He identified himself with us, He became a petitioner, just like we are to be petitioners before God, pleading with Him for strength and direction. I am learning that Jesus is our example in all things. His humanity made prayer a privilege and a necessity; and if the Savior of men, the Son of God felt the need of prayer, how much more should we!

When my wonderful Bulgarian friend calls me at seven in the morning  we share the belief that “prayer does not change God but changes him who prays” – Soren Kierkegaard. After each session of prayer we are strengthened and renewed with belief in a God who hears and answers.

Psalm 5:3 is also a beautiful thought “My voice shalt thou hear in the morning O Lord; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto Thee, and will look up”.

When is your time of day to pray? Just remember: when we lose the day…we lose the way!

