Two weeks ago in my travels throughout my community I met  a lovely fifty six year old Christian lady who could speak English, but could not read this language. I said a silent prayer before offering her to learn to read English through me helping her to read from the Bible. She readily agreed and this week I am looking forward to our third session.

I stand in awe when I think of the many ways God sends people into our lives not only to help them, but also for the refreshment they bring to us. As my new friend and I read the chapters from the Bible together and I teach her new words and give explanations, I am being refreshed on the beautiful creation story and all of the wonderful comfort and beauty God has given in His Word. As slowly and as surely that my new friend is being shown a world of new words, I am just as surely, being reminded of how wonderful it must have been for God to place the beautiful flowers and trees in place, the animals, fish, and how about the beautiful sun, moon and stars! And what about when he made man! Is it any wonder that the Psalmist exclaimed  “When I consider Thy heavens, the work of Thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that Thou visitest him?”  Psalm 8:3-4

I have had to deal with people from many different countries who face great challenges because of not being able to speak English. Thankfully this is my native language, but if I could not read English I know I would need someone to teach me. I am really grateful to God to be able to share His Word to support someone, whose life  I pray will become less challenging, through this learning; making a difference in one persons life often times seem so small to us; but to God it is awesome! I believe this is why He said ” Therefore all things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do you even so to them…” Matthew 7:12.

