I believe one of the biggest lies that is being taught today is that when Jesus comes back we will have a second chance to repent and get our act together.

I spoke with a lovely lady last week while in her neighborhood and she also shared that  same “second chance” thought with me. After we chatted I offered her a book about God’s Judgement, which she readily accepted.

God’s Word is very clear on the subject of our anticipation and preparation for His second coming.

Just imagine for a minute how confusing this would be if my friends thinking is correct. We would not have to be concerned about overcoming sins like God asks us to Proverbs 28:13. Then I am thinking about how Satan would also have to get another chance, wouldn’t this be fair to say? Sin is sin, Satan committed sin in heaven and was cast out, Revelation 12:9; so if we can also continue in sin, and can repent at the eleventh hour, why not grant Satan that golden opportunity  such as we will have.  Oh how thankful I am for God’s Holy Word! Psalm 119:105; for His Word has all of the answers to our deepest questions!

John the Revelator has taught us: Revelation 21:7 “He that OVERCOMETH shall inherit all things; and I will be his God, and he shall be my son”KJV. Revelation 22:11 teaches  that when Jesus comes :”He that is unjust, let him be unjust still: and he which is filthy , let him be filthy still: and he that is righteous, let him be righteous still: and he that is holy, let him be holy still”. KJV.

Friends, if it is our desire to be like Jesus and live with him eternally, we must love him NOW, love Him more than we love this life; John 14:15: “If you love me, keep my commandments”. I am praying to overcome sin with the help of the Holy Spirit and through sincere prayer, because  God is telling me that “The night is far spent; the day is at hand: let us therefore cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armour of light”  Romans 13:12 KJV. We cannot do this on our own, but Jesus is faithful and invites us to accept His gift into our hearts.

Our Savior says: “Behold I come quickly; and my reward is with me, to give every man according as His works shall be”Revelation 22:12. These are words of warning, but also words of encouragement; for if it our heart’s desire to follow Jesus and live with him, then we will ask Him to prepare our hearts everyday until He comes. The Gospel is “good news”, that which our Savior has done for us on the cruel cross of Calvary. We need not dread His coming because when we love Him perfectly and completely he says “Perfect love casteth out fear”: 1 John 4:18 KJV. He paid the price! Then He arose from the grave! Halleluiah! He arose! And now? He is doing his final work in our behalf: Hebrews 1:3 and Hebrews 2. On that great day He will return just as He promised: John 14:1-3. God’s Word says we must overcome sin BEFORE He comes in glory, not WHEN He comes.

Tell me the story of Jesus, write on my heart every word. Tell me the story most precious, sweetest that ever was heard!

