I often reflect on the compositions (essays, as they are called here in the United States) we would have to write in school  when I was a teenager.  I really loved writing, and still do, and always got an A for my compositions. I can remember my favourite writings were about Florence Nightingale. It is amazing to me! Was God preparing me way back then for the wonderful profession I am enjoying! Did He know my heart way back then, a heart that I have for any and every kind of people? I just love people, and my profession gives me the opportunity to meet so many of them! I would never have imagined that after nursing in the fifty bed hospital in my homeland I would later enjoy many different areas of the health field in the greatest country in the world!

My relationship with God is a priority for me and secondly is optimal health. At home I swam, jogged and hiked a lot. In my possession I still have a certificate for walking eighteen miles in a day when I was about twenty two years.

How very sad to note that good health, in such a great country as this, is not a priority for many! Hence the reason one of our areas of health in this country is being called a “medical emergency”.

There are a number of places in God’s Word where health is mentioned. 3 John:2 “Beloved I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth”. How about the verse that we as Christians to often forget?  1 Corinthians 6:19,20: “What? Know you not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which you have of God, and you are not your own? For you are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s”. My favourite scripture about health is 1 Corinthians 10:31 “Whether therefore you eat, or drink, or whatsoever you do, do all to the glory of God”. Have you been guilty of over-indulgence? I confess there have been times when I have not obeyed the laws of health.

In order rightly to understand the subject of temperance, we must consider it from a Biblical standpoint; and nowhere can we find a more comprehensive and forcible illustration of true temperance and it’s attendant blessings, than is afforded by the history of the prophet Daniel and his friends in the court of Babylon; Daniel 1. In this chapter we read that Daniel “purposed in his heart” that he would not defile himself with the King’s dainties, his meat or his wine. The prince of the eunuchs expressed a fear that if they did not partake they would look “poorly” and he, the eunuch, would be greatly punished. Daniel later spoke with another guy whom the chief had set over Daniel and his friends and gave  a challenge; “Prove thy servants, I beseech thee, ten days; and let them give us pulse (food derived from plants) to eat and water to drink. He consented. Daniel 1:15,16;”And at the end of ten days their countenances appeared fairer and fatter in flesh than all the children which did eat the portion of the King’s meat”. No longer did Daniel and his friends have to negotiate, from that time on they enjoyed the Edenic diet. The story tells us that in all matters of wisdom and understanding that the King inquired of them, he found them ten times better than all the magicians and astrologers that were in all his realm. Have you ever considered that our eating patterns, our diet, and our health have a great effect on our spirituality?

I hope you will read the entire chapter of Daniel 1 in the Bible. Why was this story recorded in God’s Holy Word? Because what men have done, men still may do! Today we can bear a similar testimony! God will always honour the right!

Take charge of your health! Do it because God asks you to! He will bless you abundantly!

