I received an email today from my friends Michael and Holly, saying they were now on their way in their moving truck to Oklahoma. They have worked here in Northern California for about two years. Now they are called to a new place. Exciting for them, but what a loss to our church department here!

We are so thankful for all that we learnt from Michael’s training classes. Not to mention how both him and Holly  got us “all geared up” for the unforgettable General Youth Conference held right here in San Jose in 2008!  I  know there are lots of people who simply regret we did not have more time with them!

It seems like we are saying goodbye to several meaningful people this month. Our pastor preached his farewell sermon two weeks ago, and today our immediate neighbor came to tell us they are also moving.

I grew up saying an extraordinary amount of goodbye’s, especially to people who would visit or work on my island for short periods of time. The goodbye’s to our family each time we visit home are always ugly! So yes, I am a big cry baby (a softie). Someone once said “if it wasn’t for the goodbye’s we wouldn’t have had the hello’s”. So I will endure the goodbye’s… because the hello’s will always make a difference in my life!

I remember the verses that we would recite in church when we were very young. Those verses that I share here reminds me that the disciples also had to say goodbye, to their best friend, Jesus. He must have seen their sadness because he said to them “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you; and if I go and prepare a place for you I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am there you may be also” John 14:1-3.  Then again in John 17 we read Jesus praying that beautiful prayer, manifesting the same sentiment; that his disciples and then also all of those living down through the ages who loved Him, verses 20 and 24, would be with Him when He comes to take them home. This is why we can say, goodbye, but not forever… because we hope to see each other at the Savior’s side. Jesus is coming again!

