This weekend we will leave for Portland, Oregon where we hope to spend Christmas with our family, God willing. My brother Derek and his family whom we haven’t seen for several years, will be flying in from Atlanta to join us. We are looking forward to this with all of our heart, and praying that all of their travel plans will be uneventful.

In thinking of their travel plans, Guy and I are reminded about last Christmas. We were all prepared to fly to Portland. However the weather became so fierce that even Portland had a lot of snow….. and yes, you guessed it….. all flights were cancelled for that area! We spent Christmas in our own home for the first time in a long while, and we were thankful. I felt that God would still make this a beautiful Christmas for us.

On that Christmas morning here in San Jose it was very windy. We were also getting some effects of the storms that were floating across the country. I had to relieve the “disappointment lump” in my throat, so I went for a jog down to the beautiful Rose Garden. Halfway there it started to rain and the wind was getting really bad. I thought about turning back, and I also thought about sheltering under a tree, silly me!

As I turned another corner I saw just one other person, a lady with an umbrella. At least she was prepared! As she heard me coming, she turned and started to talk and this is when I stopped running and walked with her.

We walked and talked for a great while and when we stopped, we prayed together. At the end of the prayer Pat asked me if I would walk with her again. She also asked me to bring my Bible the next time because she needed God’s help so she could help her needy son. Up until the time I left to go overseas earlier this year Pat and I met each week at the park. We walked together, and then sat in my car and studied the Bible together. God blessed me with a beautiful new friend last Christmas! Who knows what He has in store for Guy and I as we make the beautiful drive to Portland this holiday season!

I love Christmas! I love the beautiful Christmas carols; “Oh Holy Night” is my absolute favorite! What a solemn night that must have been! It’s solemnity touches my very soul! JESUS! The Savior of the world! I also love the Biblical story in Matthew 1. I love verse 19 that tells while Joseph was stressing about his morals and wanting to save Mary the embarrassment, verse 20 says “But while he thought on these things, behold, the angel of the Lord appeared unto him in a dream……”. We read this story every Christmas in our home, because it is a reminder, not for this season only though but all year through, that God takes care of the business that specifically belongs to Him, and we do not need to question it. Nor do we need to be ashamed of it!

Then in verse 21 of this same chapter  is the golden promise, the long awaited Lamb; “And she shall bring forth a son, and  you shall call His name JESUS: for He shall save His people from their sins”.  Sin had bound men in it’s prison house, (Romans 6:16;  2 Peter 2:19). Christ came that He might loose the bonds, open the prison doors and deliver the captives from the sentence of death (Isaiah 61:1; Romans 7:24, 25;  Hebrews 2:15). Jesus came to save us from our sins, not in our sins. He came, not only to save us from sins actually committed, but from our potential tendencies that lead to sin (Romans 7:23-25; 1 John 1:7,9). This is why we can celebrate!  Thank God for His unspeakable gift!

Merry Christmas!!!!!!!

Dont forget to post your Bible questions!

