Many people have told me “I wish I knew how to pray”. At the end of a group Bible study one night I asked a lady if she would be willing to do the closing prayer. She said “I cant pray”. Even though this was her verbal response, her facial expression and attitude revealed  a willingness. Once receiving encouragement and assurance she went forward and prayed  a simple but beautiful prayer.

Many people feel they must “qualify” through “fancy” words, before being able to communicate with God. Of course He is God, so we should reverence (honor and respect) Him.  Here is how my favorite author helped me to understand that I didn’t need “fancy” words: “Our minds may be drawn out toward Him; we may meditate upon His works, His mercies, His blessings; but this is not, in the fullest sense, communing with Him. In order to communicate with God, we must have something to say to Him concerning our actual life”.

Do you have some-thing in your life that you need to tell God? Then, you too can pray!

